Financially supported by EEA Grants

What are EEA Grants?

Through the European Economic Area (EEA) Agreement, signed at the
city of Porto in May 1992, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway,
are partners in the internal market with the Member States of the European

As a way of promoting a continuous and balanced strengthening of economic and trade relations, the parties to the European Economic Area Agreement have established a multi-year financial mechanism, known as EEA Grants, through which Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway provide financial support to European Union member states with larger deviations from the European average GDP per capita, where Portugal is included.

EEA Grants objectives

The two major goals of EEA Grants are:

For the period 2014-2021, a total contribution of €2.8 billion has been agreed for 15 beneficiary countries.
Portugal will benefit from an allocation of 102.7 million euros under the MFEEE 2014-2021.

Reduce economic and social disparities in the European Economic Area;

Strengthen bilateral relations between recipient and donor countries.

Don't miss out on anything new!

Subscribe to site notifications